Dell Universal Dock
Bottom line: The Dell Universal Dock: Works with laptops that have either USB-C or USB-A ports; main trade-off: exact port count and layout not detailed in the listing.
As an Amazon Associate, SpecPicks earns from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure →
Pros & Cons
Pros
- ✓ Works with laptops that have either USB-C or USB-A ports
- ✓ Drives up to three 4K displays from one dock
- ✓ PowerShare options on both USB-C and USB-A connections
- ✓ One dock model covers a mixed fleet of newer and older laptops
- ✓ LED indicator gives an at-a-glance status check
Cons
- ✗ Exact port count and layout not detailed in the listing
- ✗ Laptop charging wattage not specified
- ✗ Triple 4K output depends on host laptop and OS support
- ✗ Listing gives little detail on audio and network connections
Manufacturer description
The Dell Universal Dock D6000S lets you run a full desk setup from a laptop. Connect any laptop with a USB-C or USB-A port and you can drive up to three 4K displays and use your keyboard, mouse and audio devices, at home or in the office. Support for both connector types is the main reason to choose the D6000S over a dock that only takes USB-C. If your desks have a mix of newer USB-C laptops and older USB-A machines, one Dell dock model can cover all of them. You don't need to buy and manage two kinds of dock. PowerShare options on the USB-C and USB-A connections give you a way to keep…
SpecPicks Verdict
SpecPicks scored Dell Universal Dock using a rating × review-volume × price-fit model applied to published specs and reviews across the external storage category. Dell's external storage lineup sits within the broader category mid-tier; price and specs are the deciding factors over brand loyalty here. Judge it on the specification table and the price rather than on sentiment: check the figures that decide your use case, then put it side-by-side with two or three close alternatives in the Compare tool before clicking through.
Common buyer scenarios for external storage of this kind: matching it to an existing build, replacing a failing part, or upgrading from a previous-generation equivalent. Check the spec table below against your current setup — particularly socket / form-factor / power-rating fields — and confirm compatibility on the retailer's listing before purchase. Prices and stock are set by the retailer and may have moved since this page was last updated.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will the Dell D6000S work with an older laptop that only has USB-A?
Yes. Dell designed the D6000S as a universal dock for laptops with USB-C or USB-A, so older USB-A machines can connect to displays, keyboard, mouse and audio through it.
How many monitors can I connect to the Dell D6000S?
The D6000S supports up to three 4K displays. The number of screens you actually get can depend on your laptop's hardware and operating system, so check Dell's compatibility details for your model.
Does the Dell D6000S charge my laptop?
The listing does not state a laptop power-delivery wattage. It mentions PowerShare options on its USB-C and USB-A connections. Check the product listing or Dell's spec sheet to confirm whether it can charge your laptop.
What devices can I plug into the D6000S?
Dell lists displays, a keyboard, a mouse and audio devices. For exact port types and counts, see the full spec sheet on the product listing.
Does the Dell D6000S work with a Mac or with Linux?
The listing does not name supported operating systems. Before you buy, check Dell's support page for the D6000S to find the supported OS versions and any drivers you need.
Key Features
- Universal Docking Solutions: Conveniently attach any laptop equipped with USB-C or USB-A and connect easily to displays, keyboard and mouse and audio devices whether at home or in the office.
Full Specifications
| Brand | Dell |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Wattage | 65 |
| Unit Count | 1 Count |
| Connectivity | USB-C |
| Model Number | D6000S |
| Item Type Name | Universal Dock |
| Mfr Part Number | 2TVK3 |
| Number of Ports | 6 |
| Total USB Ports | 5 |
| Total Usb Ports | 5 |
| Total HDMI Ports | 1 |
| Compatible Devices | ['Dell'] |
| Hardware Interface | USB |
| Warranty Description | 1-year Limited Hardware Warranty |
| Item Dimensions L x W x H | 3.1"L x 3.1"W x 1.2"H |
| Total Number of HDMI Ports | 1 |
| Full listing title | Dell Universal Dock - D6000S, Equipped with USB-C/USB-A PowerShare Options, Connect Upto Three 4K Displays, LED Indicator, Black |
Ready to buy?
Dell Universal Dock - D6000S, Equipped with USB-C/USB-A PowerShare Options, Connect Upto Three 4K Displays, LED Indicator, Black is listed on Amazon. Price, availability, shipping and returns are set by Amazon and its sellers — check the listing for current terms. SpecPicks earns a small commission on qualifying purchases — thank you for supporting independent review work.
Related External Storage
More guides & deep dives from the SpecPicks archive
Browse all articles & guides →- How to Build a Windows 98 Retro PC in 2026
- Best 1440p Gaming GPUs in 2026
- Best Retro Handhelds in 2026 — From $35 to $500
- The Complete Voodoo5 5500 AGP Driver Guide (2026 Edition)
- RTX 4070 Super vs RX 7800 XT — Which to Buy in 2026
- Emulation Hardware in 2026: FPGA, Software, and Cart-Reader Ecosystems
- Best Budget Gaming PC Build 2026 — ~$1,000 ($800 on Sale)
More reviews from the SpecPicks archive
Browse all reviews →- Intel-Scaler vLLM 0.21.0: What the New Release Changes for Intel GPU Inference
- Build a Jellyfin Media Server on a Raspberry Pi 4 in 2026
- Build Your Own Gaming PC in 2026: The 5 Components That Actually Matter
- Acer Nitro 65 Review: Solid Gaming, Connectivity Caveats
- Can a Raspberry Pi 4 8GB Run Local LLMs in 2026? Ollama tok/s + SSD-Boot Setup
- Qwen 3.6 27B vs Llama 3.1 70B on Local Hardware: tok/s, VRAM, and Quality (2026)
- 180Hz 1440p Gaming Monitors Hit Entry-Level Pricing
- Logitech G Pro X2 Superstrike: The $125.99 Deal Has Expired
- Adding USB Storage to a Windows 98 PC With a SATA/IDE Adapter
- Headset Mic vs USB Mic for Discord and Twitch: Recon 50 vs Blue Yeti
- Self-Hosted Jellyfin on a Raspberry Pi 4 8GB: What 1080p Transcoding Really Costs
- Raspberry Pi AI HAT+ 26 TOPS: Specs, Setup, and Verdict
- Ryzen 7 9800X3D vs Ryzen 9 9900X: Which Zen 5 CPU Wins in 2026?
- AMD Ryzen 9 9950X Hitting 98°C While Streaming?
- Hyperscalers May Soon Outrun Their Cash Flow on AI Buildout
- Anthropic's 2GW AMD Deal: Should You Still Run Local?
- Best GPU for Local Stable Diffusion Under $400: Why the RTX 3060 12GB Still Wins
- Best SATA SSD to Upgrade Your PS4 Pro in 2026
- Build a Wall-Mounted Raspberry Pi 4 Arcade Cabinet: 3D-Printed Case, SSD Boot, Real BOM
- AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 'Gorgon Halo' 192GB: What 192GB Unified Memory Means for Local LLMs
- llama.cpp MTP support landed - Qwen3.6 27B at 2.44× on a Strix Halo, 2.17× on a RTX 3090 rig
- Intel Arc AI Software: oneAPI, OpenVINO & LLM Guide
- Audio DSP Firmware for the Raspberry Pi Pico: A 2026 Guide
- Enthusiast Hides Gaming PC Inside Living Room Fan
Earliest SpecPicks reviews
Browse full archive →- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 8B (2026)
- Best GPU for Qwen 3 14B (2026)
- Best GPU for Qwen 3 32B (2026)
- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 70B (2026)
- Best GPU for DeepSeek-R1 32B (2026)
- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 405B (2026)
- How to run Llama 3.1 8B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Qwen 3 14B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Qwen 3 32B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Llama 3.1 70B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run DeepSeek-R1 32B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Llama 3.1 8B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090