Two audiences, two different right answers
Llama 3.2 3B is the model people reach for when they want something local, private and small. Meta released the 1B and 3B text models on September 25, 2024 with a 128K-token context window, and said they were optimized for Arm processors from day one (Meta AI — Llama 3.2). The 3B has 3.21B parameters and uses grouped-query attention (Hugging Face — Llama-3.2-3B-Instruct model card).
That makes it attractive to two groups of buyers whose needs barely overlap.
The first is building always-on edge automation: a Home Assistant intent parser that turns "dim the kitchen and lock the back door" into structured actions, a script that summarizes the day's logs at 3 a.m., a classifier that tags incoming email. These jobs care about power draw, silence and staying up for a year without attention. Nobody is watching the tokens appear, so whether they arrive at two per second or two hundred rarely matters.
The second wants a desktop assistant: chat, coding help, question-answering over documents. A person is waiting for every reply. Latency is the whole product, and prompts are long because they carry context.
A Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 8GB is a good answer for the first group and a poor one for the second. A ZOTAC Gaming GeForce RTX 3060 Twin Edge OC 12GB is the reverse. This synthesis works through the figures that decide which one you are.
Key takeaways
- Speed gap: about 77×. Pi 400 (Pi 4 silicon) 1.60 tok/s at 6 W peak versus RTX 3060 12GB 122.85 tok/s at 214 W system peak, per Geerling's ai-benchmarks.
- Memory is not the problem. Q4_K_M is 2.02 GB and Q8_0 is 3.42 GB, so an 8 GB Pi 4 holds every practical quant.
- The GPU is more efficient per token. Using those peak-power figures, the RTX 3060 system delivers about 0.57 tok/s per watt against the Pi 400's 0.27.
- Pi 5 roughly triples the Pi 4. The Pi 5 8GB runs the same model at 4.61 tok/s.
- Boot from USB SSD. A USB 3.0 SSD read at 299.65 MB/s against 48.83 MB/s for a fast microSD card in Geerling's Pi 4 storage tests (raspberry-pi-dramble issue #183).
Step 0: is your job latency-bound or duty-cycle-bound?
Before choosing between a board that idles at a couple of watts and a card rated at 170 W, estimate how many tokens each task generates and how long a person — if any — waits. Times below are generation only, computed from the measured rates above; prompt processing adds to both.
| Task | Output tokens | Pi 4-class at 1.60 tok/s | RTX 3060 at 122.85 tok/s | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart-home intent parse | ~20 | 12.5 s | 0.16 s | Pi is borderline; a 1B model or a Pi 5 helps |
| Nightly log summary | ~300 | 3.1 min | 2.4 s | Pi is fine — nobody is waiting |
| Chat reply | ~250 | 2.6 min | 2.0 s | GPU |
| Code-assistant answer | ~600 | 6.3 min | 4.9 s | GPU |
If every job on your list sits in the "nobody is waiting" rows, you are duty-cycle-bound and the Pi wins on power, noise and cost. If even one sits in the chat or code rows, you are latency-bound.
VRAM, RAM and quantization requirements
File sizes are from the bartowski GGUF repository; Ollama's default llama3.2:3b tag is the same Q4_K_M at 2.0 GB (Ollama — llama3.2:3b). The "resident at 4K context" column adds a KV cache of about 0.47 GB, derived from the model's config (28 layers, 8 KV heads of dimension 128 — Llama-3.2-3B-Instruct config.json).
| Quant | File size | Resident at 4K context (approx.) | Runs on Pi 4 8GB? | Runs on RTX 3060 12GB? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q4_K_M | 2.02 GB | 2.5 GB | Yes — the recommended quant | Yes |
| Q5_K_M | 2.32 GB | 2.8 GB | Yes, slower | Yes |
| Q6_K | 2.64 GB | 3.1 GB | Yes, slower | Yes |
| Q8_0 | 3.42 GB | 3.9 GB | Yes, well under 1 tok/s expected | Yes |
| F16 | 6.43 GB | 6.9 GB | Loads, but leaves ~1 GB for the OS — impractical | Yes |
On the Pi, generation speed falls roughly in proportion to file size because each token reads every weight, so Q4_K_M is the only quant that makes sense. On the RTX 3060, even F16 fits with room to spare.
Spec delta: Raspberry Pi 4 8GB vs RTX 3060 12GB
| Spec | Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 8GB | RTX 3060 12GB build | Delta | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model memory | 8 GB LPDDR4-3200, shared with the OS | 12 GB GDDR6, dedicated | +4 GB, dedicated | The Pi's OS and services compete with the model |
| Memory bandwidth | 2.74 GB/s measured memcpy | 360 GB/s rated | Two orders of magnitude | Generation is bandwidth-bound |
| Compute | 4× Cortex-A72 @ 1.8 GHz | 3,584 CUDA cores | — | Prompt processing is compute-bound |
| Power under load | 5.0 W stress max, 7.2 W HPL | 170 W GPU board power; 214 W system peak running this model | ~30× | Running cost and heat |
| Launch price | See current listing | $329 (GPU only) | — | The GPU also needs a host PC |
Sources: Raspberry Pi's specification page for the SoC, memory and power input (Raspberry Pi — Pi 4 Model B specifications); Geerling's Pi 4 8GB review for tinymembench memcpy of 2,737.5 MB/s and 1.6 W idle / 5.0 W stress / 7.2 W HPL power (geerlingguy/sbc-reviews — Pi 4 8GB); NVIDIA for 12 GB GDDR6, 3,584 CUDA cores and 170 W (NVIDIA — RTX 3060 family) and the $329 launch price (NVIDIA Newsroom — RTX 3060 launch); the RTX 30-series reference table for 360 GB/s (Wikipedia — GeForce RTX 30 series). TechPowerUp's database lists the same GA106 configuration (TechPowerUp — RTX 3060 12 GB). The two bandwidth figures measure different things — a measured copy rate against a rated peak — but the gap is too large for that to change the conclusion.
Benchmark table: tokens per second
No public, fetchable measurement of Llama 3.2 3B on a Pi 4 itself was available for this synthesis. The closest is the Pi 400, which uses the same Broadcom BCM2711 quad-core Cortex-A72 at 1.8 GHz and LPDDR4-3200 (Raspberry Pi — Pi 400 specifications). All Pi rows are Q4_K_M on CPU; the RTX 3060 rows used llama.cpp with Vulkan, not CUDA.
| Hardware | Runtime | Quant | Prompt processing | Generation | Peak power | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pi 400 4GB (Pi 4 SoC) | CPU | Q4_K_M | not reported | 1.60 tok/s | 6 W | ai-benchmarks |
| Pi 5 8GB | CPU | Q4_K_M | not reported | 4.61 tok/s | 13.9 W | ai-benchmarks |
| Pi 5 16GB | CPU | Q4_K_M | not reported | 4.88 tok/s | 11.9 W | ai-benchmarks |
| Pi 500+ 16GB | CPU | Q4_K_M | not reported | 5.55 tok/s | 13 W | ai-benchmarks |
| RTX 3060 12GB, Core Ultra 7 265K host | llama.cpp Vulkan | Q4_K_M | 4,006.44 tok/s (pp512) | 122.85 tok/s | 214 W | ai-benchmarks issue #40 |
| RTX 3060 12GB, Pi CM5 host | llama.cpp Vulkan | Q4_K_M | 3,408.55 tok/s (pp512) | 112.77 tok/s | 192.3 W | ai-benchmarks issue #40 |
| RTX 3060 12GB, Llama 2 7B for scale | llama.cpp CUDA | Q4_0 | 2,137.50 tok/s | 75.57 tok/s | — | llama.cpp CUDA scoreboard |
Two things stand out. First, the Pi 4-class result is consistent with the broader literature: a 2025 study of small models on a Pi 4 found that models of 1B parameters and up "struggled to run reliably, with throughput typically falling below 5 tokens/second" (Nguyen & Nguyen, arXiv 2511.07425). Second, the RTX 3060 hosted by a Pi CM5 loses only about 8% to the desktop host — the GPU, not the host CPU, does the work.
Prefill vs generation on a 7W board
Every request has two phases. Prefill processes the whole prompt; generation produces the answer one token at a time. On a GPU, prefill is so fast it barely registers: the RTX 3060 processed 2,800.87 tok/s at a 4,096-token prompt in the same Geerling run, so a 2,000-token prompt takes under a second.
On a Pi, prefill is where RAG-style workloads fall apart. No verified prompt-processing figure exists for the Pi 4 on the 3B model, but Seeed Studio's Raspberry Pi tutorial measured 19.46 tok/s of prompt evaluation for the smaller Llama 3.2 1B at Q8_0 on an unspecified Pi board (Seeed Studio — run Llama on Raspberry Pi). At that rate a 2,000-token prompt — five retrieved document chunks — takes over 100 seconds before the first output token, and the 3B model is slower than the 1B.
The asymmetry decides the use case. A 40-token voice command prefills in a couple of seconds and is fine. A prompt stuffed with retrieved context is not, which is why the Pi is a poor RAG host even when generation speed seems tolerable.
How far can you push context?
The KV cache grows linearly with context. From the config — 28 layers × 8 KV heads × 128 dimensions × keys and values × 2 bytes — it costs about 112 KB per token at 16-bit precision.
| Context | KV cache (approx., f16) | Pi 4 8GB (weights + cache) | RTX 3060 12GB (weights + cache) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2K | 0.23 GB | 2.3 GB — comfortable | 2.3 GB — comfortable |
| 8K | 0.94 GB | 3.0 GB — comfortable | 3.0 GB — comfortable |
| 32K | 3.76 GB | 5.8 GB — tight with the OS and services | 5.8 GB — comfortable |
| 128K (maximum) | 15.0 GB | Does not fit | Does not fit at f16 |
On the Pi the capacity limit arrives long after the time limit: even at 8K, filling the window at tens of tokens per second takes minutes. On the RTX 3060, 32K is easy and 64K (about 7.5 GB of cache plus 2 GB of weights) still fits.
Does Llama 3.2 1B change the verdict?
For the Pi, yes. The 1B's Q4_K_M file is 0.81 GB and its Q8_0 is 1.32 GB (bartowski — Llama-3.2-1B-Instruct-GGUF), about 40% of the 3B's size. Because generation on a CPU scales roughly with bytes read per token, expect something like 2.5× the 3B's speed on the same board — an estimate from file sizes, not a measurement, and one that stays under the 5 tok/s ceiling the arXiv study describes.
That speed makes the Pi genuinely comfortable for intent parsing, classification, entity extraction and short rewrites, where the 1B is capable. The cost is quality on anything that needs reasoning or long-form writing; nightly summaries of messy logs are noticeably better from the 3B. A common pattern is 1B for the always-on fast path and 3B for scheduled batch work on the same board.
On the RTX 3060, the 1B changes nothing — the 3B is already far faster than anyone reads.
Storage matters more than you think on the Pi
The Pi 4 has two USB 3.0 ports, and using one for an SSD is the single most useful upgrade for a model host. In Geerling's Pi 4 tests, a Samsung Evo+ microSD card read at 48.83 MB/s under hdparm while a USB 3.0 enclosure with a Kingston SSD read at 299.65 MB/s. His UASP tests show why the enclosure matters: the same Kingston SSD read 296.71 MB/s with UASP and 172.13 MB/s without (turing-pi-cluster issue #11). His write-up of booting the Pi 4 from USB puts sequential operations at 3–4× faster than microSD, using a Kingston A400 as the test drive (Jeff Geerling — booting a Pi 4 from USB SSD).
In load-time terms, the 2.02 GB Q4_K_M file takes about 41 seconds from that microSD card and about 7 seconds from the SSD; the 3.42 GB Q8_0 takes about 70 seconds versus 11.
The Kingston A400 960GB is rated at up to 500 MB/s read and 450 MB/s write with 300 TB of endurance (Kingston — A400 datasheet), so the USB 3.0 bridge, not the drive, is the limit. The Crucial BX500 1TB is a same-class alternative at 540 MB/s read and 360 TB endurance (Crucial — BX500 product flyer). Either removes the microSD write-wear failure mode that ends many always-on Pi deployments.
The middle path: a Ryzen 5 5600G box
If you want one always-on machine that is faster than a Pi without buying a GPU, the AMD Ryzen 5 5600G is the reasonable midpoint. AMD lists it at 6 cores and 12 threads, 3.9–4.4 GHz, 16 MB of L3, a 65 W default TDP, 7-core integrated Radeon graphics at 1,900 MHz, dual-channel DDR4 up to 3,200 MT/s and PCIe 3.0 (AMD — Ryzen 5 5600G specifications).
Dual-channel DDR4-3200 provides 51.2 GB/s theoretical, 25.6 GB/s per channel (Wikipedia — DDR4 SDRAM). Dividing that by the 2.02 GB Q4_K_M file gives a theoretical generation ceiling around 25 tok/s; real CPU inference lands below such ceilings, and no published 5600G measurement for this model was found. Expect usable interactive speed for short replies, several times the Pi, well short of the GPU. With 32 GB of RAM the same box also runs 8B models on the CPU, and its x16 slot takes an RTX 3060 later if you outgrow it.
Performance per dollar and per watt
Energy is the cleanest comparison. Using US residential electricity at 18.34 ¢/kWh in June 2026 (EIA — Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A) and the measured generation rates and peak power above, energy per million generated tokens works out to:
| Build | Generation | Peak power | Energy per 1M tokens | Cost per 1M tokens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pi 400 (Pi 4 SoC) | 1.60 tok/s | 6 W | 1.04 kWh | $0.19 |
| Pi 5 8GB | 4.61 tok/s | 13.9 W | 0.84 kWh | $0.15 |
| RTX 3060 12GB, desktop host | 122.85 tok/s | 214 W | 0.48 kWh | $0.09 |
| RTX 3060 12GB, Pi CM5 host | 112.77 tok/s | 192.3 W | 0.47 kWh | $0.09 |
Per token, the GPU is cheaper to run. The Pi wins on idle. At the 1.6 W idle measured for the Pi 4 8GB, a year of standby costs about $2.57; Pi Dramble's older 2.7 W idle figure (Pi Dramble — power consumption) works out to about $4.34. A desktop with a discrete GPU idles far higher; measure yours at the wall, because the figure depends on the motherboard and power supply.
The practical conclusion: if the box spends most of its life idle and generates a few thousand tokens a day, the Pi's total energy bill is lower. If it generates continuously, the GPU is cheaper per token as well as faster. For broader Pi 4 performance-per-dollar context against other Arm boards, Phoronix's launch benchmarks are still a useful reference (Phoronix — Raspberry Pi 4 benchmarks), though they ran at the original launch clock.
Common pitfalls
- Buying the wrong memory size. The Pi 4 is sold in 1, 2, 4 and 8 GB versions; some listings bury the capacity. Buy the 8 GB board for a model host.
- Weak power supply. The spec calls for 5 V at a minimum of 3 A over USB-C; a phone charger will brown out under sustained load with an SSD attached.
- No cooling. Four cores pinned for minutes will throttle a bare board; use an active cooler or a heatsink case.
- Running F16 because it fits. It fits in 8 GB on paper, but it is the slowest quant and starves the OS.
- Comparing Vulkan and CUDA numbers. The RTX 3060 Llama 3.2 3B figures above are Vulkan; the llama.cpp scoreboard row is CUDA.
Verdict matrix
Get the Raspberry Pi 4 8GB if… your jobs are duty-cycle-bound — intent parsing, nightly summaries, tagging — you want single-digit-watt idle, and nobody waits on the output. Pair it with a USB 3.0 SSD and consider the 1B model for the fast path.
Get the RTX 3060 12GB if… a person waits for every reply, your prompts carry retrieved context, or you expect to move up to 8B and 14B models. It is also the cheaper option per generated token.
Get the Ryzen 5 5600G box if… you want one quiet, always-on machine that answers short prompts at interactive speed today and can take a GPU tomorrow.
Bottom line
For edge automation, buy the Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 8GB, boot it from a Kingston A400 over USB 3.0, and run Llama 3.2 3B at Q4_K_M for batch jobs and the 1B for anything a person triggers. For a desktop assistant, buy the ZOTAC RTX 3060 Twin Edge OC 12GB: at 122.85 tok/s the 3B answers faster than you can read, and the 12 GB leaves room for the larger models you will want within a month.
Live price comparison
- Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 8GB — current price
- ZOTAC RTX 3060 Twin Edge OC 12GB — current price
- RTX 3060 benchmark data · Ryzen 5 5600G benchmark data
Prices change frequently — the price shown on the retailer page at the time of your visit is authoritative. As an Amazon Associate, SpecPicks earns from qualifying purchases.
Related guides
- Raspberry Pi 4 8GB for local LLMs
- Best GPU for local LLMs under $400
- RTX 3060 12 GB for local LLMs
- Best SSD for local LLM model storage
- Jetson Orin Nano Super vs Coral USB for edge AI
Citations and sources
- Jeff Geerling — ai-benchmarks — Llama 3.2 3B eval rates and peak power for Pi 400, Pi 5, Pi 500+ and RTX 3060 hosts (accessed 2026-09-10)
- ai-benchmarks issue #40 — RTX 3060 Llama 3.2 3B Q4_K_M llama-bench under Vulkan: pp512, pp4096, tg128 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- llama.cpp CUDA scoreboard — RTX 3060 Llama 2 7B Q4_0, 2,137.50 / 75.57 tok/s (accessed 2026-09-10)
- bartowski — Llama-3.2-3B-Instruct-GGUF — Q4_K_M 2.02 GB through F16 6.43 GB (accessed 2026-09-10)
- bartowski — Llama-3.2-1B-Instruct-GGUF — Q4_K_M 0.81 GB, Q8_0 1.32 GB (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Ollama — llama3.2:3b — 2.0 GB Q4_K_M default (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Meta AI — Llama 3.2 — 1B/3B release, 128K context, Arm optimization (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Hugging Face — Llama-3.2-3B-Instruct model card — 3.21B parameters, GQA (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Llama-3.2-3B-Instruct config.json — 28 layers, 8 KV heads, head dimension 128 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Raspberry Pi — Pi 4 Model B specifications — BCM2711 @ 1.8 GHz, LPDDR4-3200, USB 3.0, 5 V / 3 A (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Raspberry Pi — Pi 400 specifications — same BCM2711 @ 1.8 GHz (accessed 2026-09-10)
- geerlingguy/sbc-reviews — Pi 4 8GB — memcpy 2,737.5 MB/s; 1.6 W idle, 5.0 W stress, 7.2 W HPL (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Pi Dramble — power consumption — Pi 4 2.7 W idle, 6.4 W at 400% CPU (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Nguyen & Nguyen, arXiv 2511.07425 — ≥1B models typically below 5 tok/s on a Pi 4 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Seeed Studio — run Llama on Raspberry Pi — Llama 3.2 1B Q8_0 prompt evaluation 19.46 tok/s (accessed 2026-09-10)
- raspberry-pi-dramble issue #183 — microSD 48.83 MB/s vs USB SSD 299.65 MB/s (accessed 2026-09-10)
- turing-pi-cluster issue #11 — UASP 296.71 vs 172.13 MB/s (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Jeff Geerling — booting a Pi 4 from USB SSD — 3–4× faster sequential than microSD (accessed 2026-09-10)
- NVIDIA — RTX 3060 family specifications — 12 GB GDDR6, 3,584 CUDA cores, 170 W (accessed 2026-09-10)
- NVIDIA Newsroom — RTX 3060 launch — $329 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Wikipedia — GeForce RTX 30 series — 360 GB/s (accessed 2026-09-10)
- TechPowerUp — GeForce RTX 3060 12 GB — GA106 configuration (accessed 2026-09-10)
- AMD — Ryzen 5 5600G specifications — 6C/12T, 65 W, DDR4-3200, PCIe 3.0 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Wikipedia — DDR4 SDRAM — 25.6 GB/s per DDR4-3200 channel (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Kingston — A400 datasheet — 500/450 MB/s, 300 TBW (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Crucial — BX500 product flyer — 540 MB/s, 360 TB (accessed 2026-09-10)
- EIA — Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A — 18.34 ¢/kWh, June 2026 (accessed 2026-09-10)
- Phoronix — Raspberry Pi 4 benchmarks — launch performance and performance-per-dollar (accessed 2026-09-10)
This piece is editorial synthesis based on publicly available information. No independent first-party benchmarking is reported.
