Oemgenuine OEM 256GB M.2 PCI-e NVME Internal Solid State Drive 42mm 2242 Form Factor M Key
Bottom line: The Oemgenuine OEM 256GB M.2 PCI-e NVME Internal Solid State Drive 42mm ($68.95 on Amazon as of 2026-10-06): 256GB NVMe capacity for an OS boot drive or core apps; main trade-off: PCIe generation and read/write speeds not stated in the listing.
As an Amazon Associate, SpecPicks earns from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure →
*Price sourced from Amazon.com. Last updated 2026-10-06. Price and availability subject to change.
Pros & Cons
Pros
- ✓ 256GB NVMe capacity for an OS boot drive or core apps
- ✓ Short 2242 (42mm) length fits M.2 slots too small for 2280 drives
- ✓ M key connector matches standard M.2 PCIe NVMe slots
- ✓ PCIe NVMe interface, a step up from SATA-based M.2 2242 drives
- ✓ Internal M.2 module, no power or data cables needed
Cons
- ✗ PCIe generation and read/write speeds not stated in the listing
- ✗ OEM part: retail packaging and warranty terms not specified
- ✗ 256GB fills fast with modern games or large media libraries
- ✗ 42mm only; needs an adapter or standoff to mount in a 2280-only slot
SpecPicks Verdict
SpecPicks scored Oemgenuine OEM 256GB M.2 PCI-e NVME Internal Solid State Drive 42mm… using a rating × review-volume × price-fit model applied to published specs and reviews across the ssds & storage category. Oemgenuine's ssds & storage lineup sits within the broader category mid-tier; price and specs are the deciding factors over brand loyalty here. Judge it on the specification table and the price rather than on sentiment: check the figures that decide your use case, then put it side-by-side with two or three close alternatives in the Compare tool before clicking through.
Common buyer scenarios for ssds & storage of this kind: matching it to an existing build, replacing a failing part, or upgrading from a previous-generation equivalent. Check the spec table below against your current setup — particularly socket / form-factor / power-rating fields — and confirm compatibility on the retailer's listing before purchase. Prices and stock are set by the retailer and may have moved since this page was last updated.
Full Specifications
| Brand | Oemgenuine |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Model Name | 256GB M.2 PCI-e NVME |
| Form Factor | M2 |
| Model Number | 73c2008d-696f-4182-9927-3ae8be8544a9 |
| Hard-Drive Size | 256 GB |
| Number of Items | 1 |
| Special Feature | Portable |
| Hardware Platform | PC, laptop |
| Installation Type | Plug In,Screw In |
| Compatible Devices | Laptop |
| Enclosure Material | Nand Flash Memory |
| Additional Features | Portable |
| Hard Disk Interface | NVMe |
| Hard Disk Description | Nvme |
| Hard Disk Form Factor | 2242 Inches |
| Hardware Connectivity | PCI, Solid State Drive |
| Connectivity Technology | PCI-e |
| Digital Storage Capacity | 256 GB |
| Cache Memory Installed Size | 256 |
Ready to buy?
Oemgenuine OEM 256GB M.2 PCI-e NVME Internal Solid State Drive 42mm 2242 Form Factor M Key is listed on Amazon. Price, availability, shipping and returns are set by Amazon and its sellers — check the listing for current terms. SpecPicks earns a small commission on qualifying purchases — thank you for supporting independent review work.
*Price sourced from Amazon.com. Last updated 2026-10-06. Price and availability subject to change.
Related SSDs & Storage
More guides & deep dives from the SpecPicks archive
Browse all articles & guides →- How to Build a Windows 98 Retro PC in 2026
- RTX 4070 Super vs RX 7800 XT — Which to Buy in 2026
- Best 1440p Gaming GPUs in 2026
- The Complete Voodoo5 5500 AGP Driver Guide (2026 Edition)
- Best Retro Handhelds in 2026 — From $35 to $500
- Emulation Hardware in 2026: FPGA, Software, and Cart-Reader Ecosystems
- Best Budget Gaming PC Build 2026 — ~$1,000 ($800 on Sale)
More reviews from the SpecPicks archive
Browse all reviews →- Ethernet WiFi Router on a Pi Pico 2W: What's Possible
- Build a Raspberry Pi Bird-Song Logger with a USB Mic (2026)
- Intel Arc B580 LLM Inference: 12GB Battlemage Benchmarks
- Backing Up Vintage IDE Drives to CompactFlash in 2026
- Ryzen 7 9800X3D vs Ryzen 9 9900X3D: Which Zen 5 X3D Chip Wins in 2026?
- The Pac-Man Benchmark: Testing Local Agentic Coding AI
- Raspberry Pi OS Moves to the Linux 6.18 LTS Kernel With an Updated LabWC Compositor
- Best Parts for a DIY Home Arcade Cabinet in 2026
- Best CPU Cooler for a Ryzen 7 5800X (AM4) in 2026
- A Red Hat Engineer Went Back to AMD Ryzen for His Linux Desktop
- Retro Nintendo Switch 2 Dock Channels the N64 and Holds Six Game Cards
- Sound Blaster G6 in a Period-Correct WinXP Build: Modern USB DAC Meets Vintage Hardware
- Self-Host NextCloud on a Raspberry Pi 4 8GB: A Complete Private-Cloud Build for 2026
- Best Racing Wheel Under $300: Logitech G29 vs HORI Force Feedback
- ASUS TUF 27" 1440p vs Samsung Odyssey G5 32": Best High-Refresh Esports Monitor
- Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS in 2026: The Last Great Win98/XP Sound Card Install Guide
- Mini-ITX Gaming PC in a 3D Printed Case: 2026 Builder's Guide
- Self-Hosting Jellyfin on a Ryzen 5 5600G: 4K Transcode on the Cheap
- Intel llm-scaler-vllm 1.4: What Arc Pro B70 Support Means for Sub-$1500 Local Inference
- Best AI HATs for Raspberry Pi 5 in 2026
- Grok Imagine Video 1.5 Hits #2 — But Local Video Gen on an RTX 3060 Is Still Free
- Boot Windows 98 from CompactFlash: Transcend CF133 + IDE Adapter Guide
- Best AMD GPU for 4K Gaming in 2026
- NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell vs RTX A6000: Is 96 GB Worth $4,000 More?
Earliest SpecPicks reviews
Browse full archive →- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 8B (2026)
- Best GPU for Qwen 3 14B (2026)
- Best GPU for Qwen 3 32B (2026)
- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 70B (2026)
- Best GPU for DeepSeek-R1 32B (2026)
- Best GPU for Llama 3.1 405B (2026)
- How to run Llama 3.1 8B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Qwen 3 14B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Qwen 3 32B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Llama 3.1 70B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run DeepSeek-R1 32B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090
- How to run Llama 3.1 8B on NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090